Nuis takes gold, crowd favourite Korean gets bronze ~ Passion/Patin/Vitesse - Passion/Speed/Skating


13 février 2018

Nuis takes gold, crowd favourite Korean gets bronze

The Netherlands once again crowded the podium, with Kjeld Nuis and Patrick Roest taking gold and silver respectively. Kim Min Seok, the 18-year-old Korean sensation, rounded off the podium and had his country behind him as he captured the country’s first long track medal of the games.

By Maria Dalton
Photo by Schaats Foto's

Dutch domination continues
Kjeld Nuis executed his race perfectly and posted a speedy time of 1:44.01 to capture the gold medal. Kjeld Nuis’ performance today bettered his track record time of 1:44.36 set at the World Single Distance Championships last year. Nuis who is participating in his first Olympic games, and after failing to qualify for the Dutch Olympic team in 2010 and 2014, has finally captured his first career Olympic medal. Nuis has had a very successful career but has been criticized for not being able to perform on the big stage, however after working with a sport psychologist in the past few years he has proved the critics wrong today by winning gold.
Skating in the 4th pair, Patrick Roest of the Netherlands posted a great time of 1:44.86, which held up as the top time until fellow countryman Kjeld Nuis knocked him off of the first spot. The young Dutchman, who is participating in his first Olympic games, came in 6th place at last year’s World Single Distance Championships at the Gangneung oval and significantly improved upon his 1:46.16 time from the previous season.
Kim Min Seok of Korea rounded out the podium with his time of 1:44.93. The 18 year old was a fan favourite and had the crowd behind him straight off the line. The only other Dutchman in the field today was Koen Verweij. Verweij, who was the silver medallist in the 1500m in Sochi four years ago, was a favourite coming into the games, but ended up in 11th place after posting a time of 1:46.26.

Morrison the top Canadian finisher

Denny Morrison was the highest Canadian finisher coming in 13th place with his time of 1:46.36. Morrison, who is a four-time Olympic medallist, is in the midst of writing one of the greatest comeback stories in Canadian history. Since the last Olympic games, he has suffered massive injuries as the result of a motorcycle accident and consequently a stroke a year one year after that. Morrison will be skating the team pursuit later on in the games where he will be looking to capture a 5th career Olympic medal.
Vincent de Haitre finished in 21st place with a time of 1:47.32, which is an improvement from his 33rd place finish in the 1500m at the Sochi Olympics four years ago. While this result is most certainly not what he was hoping for given his recent successes, he has been walking with crutches for the past few days while suffering from a bruised heel and frozen ankle. De Haitre will be taking part in both the 1000m and team pursuit later in the games, where he will be looking to win his first Olympic medal.
Ben Donnelly of Oshawa, ON who is competing in his first Olympic games finished in 31st with his time of 1:49.68, and will now shift his focus to the team pursuit next week. Donnelly, who was a late addition to the 1500m, is a key player on the team pursuit squad – according to Olympic rules, he is required participate in an individual event in order to skate the team pursuit.

Visit our special coverage page to find all our articles related to Pyeongchang 2018 by clicking HERE.

Results - M1500m

1-Kjeld Nuis (NED) – 1:44.01
2-Patrick Roest (NED) – 1:44.86
3-Kim Min Seok (KOR) – 1:44.93
4-Haralds Silovs (LAT) – 1:45.24
5-Takuro Oda (JPN) – 1:45.44
6-Bart Swings (BEL) – 1:45.49
7-Sindre Henriksen (NOR) – 1:45.64
8-Joey Mantia (USA) – 1:45.86
9-Sverre Lunde Pedersen (NOR) – 1:46.12
10-Shane Williamson (JPN) – 1:46.21
11-Koen Verweij (NED) – 1:46.26
12-Zbigniew Brodka (Pol) – 1:46.31
13-Denny Morrison (CAN) – 1:46.36
14-Peter Michael (NZL) – 1:46.39
15-Brian Hansen (USA) – 1:46.44
16-Jan Szymanski (Pol) – 1:46.48
17-Hyong-Jun Joo (KOR) – 1:46.65
18-Sergey Trofimov (OAR) – 1:46.69
19-Shani Davis (USA) – 1:46.74
20-Konrad Niedzwiedzki (POL) – 1:47.07
21-Vincent De Haitre (CAN) – 1:47.32
22-Alexis Contin (FRA) – 1:47.33
23-Mathias Voste (BEL) – 1:47.34
24-Shota Nakamura (JPN) – 1:47.38
25-Livio Wenger (SUI) – 1:47.76
26-Reyon Kay (NZL) – 1:47.81
27-Andrea Giovannini (ITA) – 1:47.82
28-Fedor Mezentsev (KAZ) – 1:48.23
29-Konrad Nagy (HUN) – 1:49.01
30-Denis Kuzin (KAZ) – 1:49.14
31-Ben Donnelly (CAN) – 1:49.68
32-Aerchenghazi Xiakaini (CHN) – 1:50.16
33-Marten Liiv (EST) - 1:50.23
34-Tai William (TPE) – 1:50.63
35-Allan Dahl Johansson (NOR) - DNF

0 commentaires:

Publier un commentaire